Category Archives: World News

Mauritania General Election 2013 Results

The final result of the recently held national legislative elections in the west African country of Mauritania witnessed the ruling party, Union for the Republic (UPR), making a thumping comeback by winning 74 of the total 147 seats. A further 34 seats were captured by UPR allies adding handsomely to the coalition’s already impressive tally in an election which was boycotted by several opposition parties.

Continue reading


Malala Wins UN Human Rights Prize

Unites Nations, Dec 6: Pakistani teenage activist Malala Yousafzai, who survived a Taliban assassination attempt last year, has been awarded the 2013 UN Human Rights Prize, an honour previously given to icons like late Nelson Mandela in recognition of outstanding achievement in human rights.

The prize is awarded every five years and has previously been bestowed on Amnesty International and former US president Jimmy Carter.

Malala wins UN Human Rights prize

The 16-year-old was attacked in northwestern Pakistan by a group of armed men who fired on her school bus.

Continue reading

No Consensus Yet on Antarctica MPAs


⇒ Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR):

It was established by international convention in 1982 with the objective of conserving Antarctic marine life. This was in response to increasing commercial interest in Antarctic krill resources, a keystone component of the Antarctic ecosystem.

CCAMLR is an international commission with 25 Members, and a further 11 countries have acceded to the Convention. Based on the best available scientific information, the Commission agrees a set of conservation measures that determine the use of marine living resources in the Antarctic.

No Consensus Yet on Antarctica MPAs

⇒ Marine Protected Area (MPA):

A marine protected area (MPA) is a region of the ocean in which human activities are more strictly regulated than in the surrounding waters, similar to a national park on land. MPAs are designated and managed through legal means with the goals of achieving long- term conservation of habitat, providing refuges for different species, and even provide safe havens for cultural and historical sites. Antarctica MPAs protect biodiversity and buffer habitats from the impacts of human activities and allow impacted areas the time to recover.

Continue reading

EU’s Sakharov Prize For Freedom of Thought 2013 to Malala

Adding to the numerous prize given to Malala Yousafzai​, European parliament seated at Strasbourg has awarded its Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2013 to her. Following Taliban’s deadly attack on her for advocating the right of education to school girls in Pakistan, her name has become familiar worldwide as a campaigner of right to education and free speech.

EU's Sakharov Prize For Freedom of Thought 2013 to Malala

  • She has already felicitated by a number of organisations and governments worldwide.
  • with this award she joins stalwarts like Nelson Mandela (South Africa) and Aung San Suu Kyi (Myanmar).

Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought

  • The 50,000 euro Annual award is named after Andrei Sakharov Prize For Freedom (Nobel Peace Prize 1975), a Soviet scientist and dissident (in Russia) who is considered father of the Soviet hydrogen bomb. Later, concerned at the likely implication of nuclear arms on humans, he started raising awareness about dangers of nuclear arms race.
  • considered Europe’s top human rights award it was established by European Parliament in December 1988
  • it recognizes and honours the courage taken by awardees (individuals /organizations) to defend human rights and freedom of expression.
  • given on 10 December (World Human Rights Day – United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights was signed in 1948).

List of Notable prize winners :

2013 Malala Yousafzai

2012 Nasrin Sotoudeh and Jafar Panahi

2011 Arab Spring activists

2008 Hu Jia (Chinese Dissident)

2003 UN Secretary General, Kofi Annan, and all UN staff

1994 Taslima Nasreen

1990 Aung San Suu Kyi

1988 (First Sakharov Prize) Nelson Mandela and Anatoli Marchenko (posthumously)